Marieli Rowe Innovation in Media Literacy Education Award 

This media literacy education award is created in recognition of Marieli Rowe's future-oriented vision, always looking at what is coming over the horizon, what is the next ‘mountain to climb.’ It was established in 2021 in honor of NTC’s longtime Executive Director and Journal Editor, whose work in the field of media literacy spanned six decades. Marieli created children’s film festivals in the 1960s, organized a satellite interconnect with students in 1981, and grew an organizational newsletter in the 1970s into an internationally renowned journal in the 1990s to the present day. Her passion for hiking and mountain climbing carried over into her work. She never stopped asking “Where to next?”

Rowe 2.png


This award is for a work in progress or in the planning stages that demonstrates innovative critical thinking and pushes the media literacy education field forward by putting ideas into action or connecting people and ideas in new ways. Experimentation and exploration (rather than guaranteed success) are strongly encouraged.



This award is open to individuals, a team of collaborators, or organizations who answer the question, “Where to Next for Media Literacy?”. Applicants could be media producers, creators, journalists, educators, researchers, and/or students. Applicants are encouraged to focus on connecting media literacy to diverse audiences, other fields of study, or to divergent ideas. 

As an international award, we respect and encourage applications from around the globe. Although there is no expectation that the proposed work including any products are in English, the application, presentation, and showcase will be in English. We will work with applicants to overcome any language barriers to the best of our abilities.  Emerging and historically marginalized professionals, researchers, students are highly encouraged to apply.

Application timeline for 2022:

  • Application Deadline March 1st, 2022

  • Presentation of Award June 27th, 2022

  • Showcase of Results to be planned within the next year (12-24 months after receiving the award)


Application process:

The award is given biennially with applications taken via an online form. The form will require:

  • Applicant(s) name and contact information.

  • A 500-word proposal that 1) describes the project, 2) indicates how it aligns with the judging criteria, 3) has an approximate timeline that includes plans for sharing results (and/or failures!) 12-24 months after receiving the award.

  • Resume or Curriculum Vitae for all applicants.

  • The name and contact details of one professional reference.


Judging process: 

The awards committee of the International Council for Media Literacy will judge the nominations. The committee reserves the right to not give the award should there be no nomination that merits it. 


Judging criteria:

The committee is looking for media literacy education work that:

  • demonstrates new ideas being put into action and/or connecting people and ideas in new ways;

  • promotes media literacy education in critical, engaging, and systemic ways; 

  • aims to create conscientious, caring citizens in a more just and equitable global society.


Award amount:

This award is funded with $1000 (USD). The initial $500 is intended to contribute to the startup costs of the project, and the final $500 is to recognize the progress or results that are showcased within an agreed upon time frame between IC4ML and the awardee(s). The awardee(s) agrees to allow IC4ML to publish or present this showcase on our website and in promotional materials related to this award.


Showcase of the results of the awardee’s work can be done in any one of the following ways:

  • Website

  • Cafe conversation

  • Conference presentation

  • Video production

  • Publication

  • Performance/art piece

  • Other creative format

About Marieli Rowe