Our organization has always called itself a "council" because we believe in the collaboration of diverse individuals and groups and see them as a circle of friends, coming from different directions, but working toward a common goal. Among the pioneers were teachers, parents, civic and religious groups, academics, policy-makers, legislators, arts and media professionals from across the nation. Today, our circle reaches around the globe. The work of the National Telemedia Council is not proprietary by any means. The work of our organization belongs to its contributors and we share it with everyone. NTC's work is a collection of visionaries. We want to highlight the contributions of people in our early decades who influenced us.

Dr. Edgar Dale

Professor at Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio

He articulated ways to do qualitative evaluation that were translated into what became our Look-Listen Project. He defined critical listening and thinking skills:

"We must bring our intelligence to bear upon the kinds of choices we are making, be critical-minded, not sponge-minded.... We have found that to the primary enjoyment of a film or television program, thoughtful viewing adds a secondary enjoyment, an enjoyment in depth." -1956

Abbott Washburn

FCC Commissioner from 1974 to 1982

Commissioner Washburn provided key initiatives within the commission in encouraging the teaching of critical television viewing skills through an FCC inquiry into children's television programming. 

"If we can make young Americans media wise, we will be helping them enormously to cope with the future... Achieving that goal will require the cooperation of parents, children, teachers, and broadcasters... As a society we are beginning to learn how to make the most of television... TV literacy is the road to TV excellence.  The solution is long-range. It will take years to develop a literate, critical, demanding audience. But the process, happily, has begun." -1979

International Council for

Media Literacy


Contact us:


© 2021  International Council for Media Literacy