Jessie McCanse Award Recipients


Provost’s Professor of Communication, Journalism, Cinematic Art and Education at the University of Southern California, founder and former director of the MIT Comparative Media Studies Program, prolific author and editor of more than 17 books on media and popular culture.

 2018  Henry Jenkins 


Educator, author and consultant in media and information literacy and global education for over 30 years in schools, libraries, NGOs, media industries, and governments around the world. Currently on the Faculty of Education, Western University, Canada and Chair of GAPMIL, a UNESCO Alliance.

2018  Carolyn Wilson


Pioneer radio innovator and advocate, member of the founding board of NPR, founder of Developing Radio Partners, nurturing independent radio in the developing world.

2018  Bill Siemering

Director of the Northwest Center for Excellence in Media Literacy, College of Education, University of Washington (UW) and Executive Director of the Seattle-based nonprofit Action for Media Education.

2018  Marilyn Cohen

Art, Media and Design Education Consultant, founder of MADEx and GameChanger Institute, past president of NTC, editorial board of The Journal of Media Literacy

2015  Martin Rayala, Ph.D.

Consultant, educator, speaker, author, founder of the nationally recognized Media Literacy Clearinghouse online resource, South Carolina 

2013  Frank Baker

President and CEO of the Center for Media Literacy since 1999, founder of the Consortium for Media Literacy, speaker, writer, consultant, Los Angeles, California 

2013  Tessa Jolls

Distinguished Australian pioneer, teacher mentor, author and founder of the Western Australian Teachers of Media (ATOM) 

2013  Barrie McMahon

Visionary researcher, entrepreneur, and innovator, Founder of MaMaMedia and the World Wide Workshop Foundation for Children's Media Technology & Learning 

2010  Idit Harel Caperton, Ph.D.

Educator, author, researcher, and voice of the British Film Institute's Education Initiatives, London, England

2010  Cary Bazalgette

Pioneering educator, author, critic, actor, producer, and poet in media literacy, Ontario, Canada 

2007  Chris Worsnop

Daughter of St. Paul, founding Director of the Pauline Center for Media Studies in Boston, and Director of its Los Angeles Western branch educator, author, critic, actor, producer, and poet in media literacy, Ontario, CA

2007  Sr Rose Pacatte, FSP

Professor of Education, Institute of Education, and Director of the Centre for the Study of Children, Youth and Media, London University, UK, author and co-author of eighteen books 

2005  David Buckingham

Professor of English, University of Northern Iowa, past Chair of National Council of Teachers of English, Assembly on Media Arts

2004  Rich Fehlman, Ph.D.

Lecturer in Education, University of Nottingham, England, Consultant to UNESCO and the Council of Europe, author of Teaching the Media, 1985 

2003  Len Masterman

English and Media Consultant, Toronto District School Board, Former Media teacher, Toronto High Schools, Canada 

2001  Neil Andersen

President & CEO, Hi-Beam Consulting, Founder, Strategies for Media Literacy, University of Texas, Austin 

2000  Kathleen Tyner

Former Director, Centre d'Initiation aux Communications (CIC), Lausanne, Switzerland, retired. 

1996  Jean-Pierre Golay

Jesuit Communication Project, President of the Canadian Association of Media Education Organizations (CAMEO), Toronto, Canada 

1995  John Pungente, SJ

Former Governor of the State of Wisconsin, former Chancellor and Professor of Communications, UW-Stevens Point 

1994  Hon. Lee Dreyfus, Ph.D.

Professor, Appalachian State University, Coordinator of the Graduate Degree Program in Media Literacy, Boone, N.C. 

1994  David Considine, Ph.D.

Canarsie Junior High School Teacher, Brooklyn, N.Y. Founder, Educators of Media and Telecommunications 

1994  Madlyn Steinhart

Senior Lecturer in Psychology and Education, University of Tasmania-Launceston, retired.

1990  John Brammall

Head of English, School of Experiential Education, Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada. Co-founder, Association for Media Literacy (AML).

1989  Barry Duncan

Madison West High School Speech/Communications Teacher, retired, Madison, Wisconsin

1988  Mary Moen

Madison West High School Speech/ Communications Teacher, retired, Madison, Wisconsin

1987  Susan Dreyfus Fosdick



Contact us

Journal of Media Literacy

© 2019 National Telemedia Council

Madison, WIsconsin